Singapore Contemporary Young Artists

Playing With & For The Community

Melinda Lauw – Artist Feature for the Month of May


This month, we caught up with Melinda Lauw, recently graduated from A level’s and currently involved in ‘When A Grey Taiwanese Cow Stretched’, a play by Yukichi Matsumot for the Singapore Art’s Festival. http://www.singaporeartsfest.com/121

Iskandar catches up with Melinda (also a member of SCYA) to answer a few questions about herself and her works.

Tell us a bit about yourself.

Melinda: I like to think that I am a confidant and capable person. I take quite long to warm up to people, so I treasure my good friends a lot. I think that in life, it is very important to be guided by moral values and to have a good heart. I’m the typical Pisces, a romantic and a dreamer. I love good food, all types of desserts, watching films, mainstream and non-mainstream, and travelling.

How did art get into your life? What kind of artist are you?

Melinda: I was sent for art classes ever since I could hold a pencil. Okay, it’s not that extreme, but I’ve always had a little more interest and talent in doodling and colouring. I pursued art all the way through school and have always loved it. I don’t think I belong to any specific type because I have yet to explore many genres and possibilities. I intend to keep trying new things in my art practice so I would not stick to a specific medium or style permanently as yet. When it comes to making art, I think I’m the kind that absorbs feelings, information and ideas from my surroundings, then translate them into my art.

3) Who or what is your inspiration?

Melinda: I think the world will inevitably come to an end. And this notion inspires me in my art and in life. With all the 2012 theories, whacky weather patterns, natural disasters and human problems (terrorism, war e.t.c), the vulnerability of life makes me want to be bold and brave. I am willing to take chances, give it my best and make sure I live without regrets.

Being so young, what are your main concerns when trying to get into the art scene?

Melinda: My main concern is probably proving myself as a good artist. I think being young, I still have a lot of knowledge to learn, skills to build and people to meet, but regardless of age, I think the main focus of any artist is making meaningful and effective art. If you are a good artist, the art scene will naturally respond to you.


Do you aim to do art for the rest of your life? What are your other life paths?

Melinda: I don’t know if I will be making art for the rest of my life, or if I will become a full time artist, but I do know that I want to be involved in the art and heritage industries and continue being interested in art. I’m heading to Goldsmiths College to study Fine Art and Art History soon, so I guess by the end of my course I will have a clearer view of whether I want to focus on art practice, art history or both. I’ve never really thought about alternative life plans, but I will take whatever opportunities life throws at me and work from there.

Do remember to catch Melinda perform 13 May – 17 May at the Main Stage, Festival Village, 7.15pm as part of the Singapore Arts Festival Activities!

You may view more of Melinda’s works on: http://www.contemporaryart.sg/archives/melinda-lau

About scyablog

Singapore Contemporary Young Artists Project (SCYA) is a non-profit Art Society that highlights Contemporary Art by Young Artists in Singapore through several platforms in exhibitions, websites, talks, workshops & commissioned services. SCYA was initiated by Jacquelyn Soo who is an artist, curator and director for SCYA. SCYA has over 10 members in the society contributing ideas, activities to support the organisation. SCYA represents up to 70 Singaporean/PR Artists in their works. SCYA launched their first project in Nov 2008 with a website collaboration with FIVEFOOTWAY that featured 23 Contemporary Young Artists Portfolios on an interactive website. Since then, SCYA have had several collaborations and events organised with corporations, government institutions, NGOS and education institutions, Please visit our website for more details: www.contemporaryart.sg Like us on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/SingaporeContemporaryYoungArtists Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 13, 2011 by in Featured Artists.

Follow me on Twitter

Like us on Facebook!

Instagram @scya_contemporary

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Categories

