Singapore Contemporary Young Artists

Playing With & For The Community

Dan Wong – Artist of the Month: September


Recent works from Dan Wong:

Giada the Elegant
Giada the Elegant
2011
Digital
Illustrated image for a Trading Card Game

Please click on image to view larger.

SCYA’s newest member, Dan Wong‘s art is a convincing world of fantasy underpinned by very real sobering truths. He speaks in a hit-and-run Q&A with Melanie Chua:

Tell us a bit about yourself.
There exists a sort of man who is intellectual, serious, and who sees value in the simple and timeless aspects of life.

Regrettably, I am not such a man. I am, however, an illustrator that likes to draw girls, guns, and big robots.

How did art get into your life?
I started my artistic career at the tender age of 12, where I would draw lewd and offensive drawings on classroom textbooks. I have since honed my craft−-my lewd and offensive drawings are now anatomically accurate. With regard to my works, I enjoy drawing or painting with intent to entertain or provoke.

Who or what is your inspiration?
Being in the concept/production art industry, I name industry giants like Yoji Shinkawa, Feng Zhu, and various artists from IFS (Imaginary Friends Studios)–people whose standards I’d like to attain. I’m very interested in manga, games, comics, and films−all of which increase the power of my visual repertoire.

Minion of Thabbash
Minion of Thabbash
2010
Digital
Illustrated image for a Trading Card Game

How do you see your place in the arts and what are your main aims and hopes for yourself as an artist in the arts scene?
I like to think of myself as an entertainer, a craftsman, and most importantly, a communicator. I strive to apply my craft in an inspiring, competent and professional manner… I also strive to be surrounded by beautiful women and riches.

Has this influenced your art or your goals in life in any way?
Of course! Ultimately our core beliefs dictate our way of life, our priorities, and subconsciously, our art. For more information on
my art and goals in life, please visit http://danwong.carbonmade.com/ to check out my commercial work, and to http://zeejaywong.deviantart.com
to check out my personal work.
Commissions are open!

Dan Wong- Rosy Palmer and Her Five Friends
Rosy Palmer and Her Five Friends
2010
Digital
Illustrated image for a Trading Card Game

Dan Wong- Degenerate Molestation
Degenerate Molestation
2010
Digital
Illustrated image done in a surreal setting for a Trading Card Game

Dan Wong- Cuchulain
Cuchulain
2009
Digital
Digital Illustration for a novel book-cover about a Celtic myth

4 comments on “Dan Wong – Artist of the Month: September

  1. Nishinomiya
    September 13, 2011

    Refreshing! Lively and spirited!

  2. a man
    September 14, 2011

    Oh my what manly works of art!

  3. Yanny
    September 14, 2011

    Very nice. :) Anatomically correct is difficult at best to attain!

  4. Hungry Hungarian
    September 14, 2011

    I am amazed. Every drawing has a certain fluidity of action and filled with such vivid details that capture one’s imagination.This artist deserves more exposure and recognition.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 13, 2011 by in Featured Artists and tagged , , , .

Follow me on Twitter

Instagram @scya_contemporary

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Categories

