Singapore Contemporary Young Artists

Playing With & For The Community

June Artist of the Month – KC Gan speaks with SCYA on his Cyber Sculptures


Title: Bodies
Medium: Mixed Media
Dimension: 47X62X49cm
Year: 2012
1. Tell us a bit about yourself

I am best known by my initials of my birth name: K.C. I graduated from LaSalle College Of The Arts with a diploma (fine arts) in 2010. I was also a Georgette Chen Arts Scholarship Recipient in 2009. I am currently serving my national service and intended to further my studies upon completion.

2. How did art get into your life? What kind of artist are you?

I did not grow up in a creative family; both my parents worked corporate jobs. I began practicing and developing my work during my early teenage years. The fascination eventually became a passion, and vice versa. I feel I always had the intention to create and develop work though during my adolescence; I lacked the skills, finance and patience to conceptualize the intangible.

Title: Honey Coated Jesus And Mary Chain

Medium: Mixed Media

Dimension: 25x46x27cm

Year: 2012

3 .Who or what is your inspiration? 

Numerous artist, designers and musicians whom share the same fascinations and affinities inspire me. Though the influences are not necessarily only aesthetic references, but shared beliefs and ideas. Several favorites off the top of my head would be: Chuck Palahniuk novels,Kurt Cobain’s journal entries, HR Giger’s airbrush paintings, Guy Aitchison’s biomechanical tattoos, Trent Reznor’s musical compositions andDazed And Confused magazine layouts. Also, deep existentialist conversations with friends (real and imaginary) always stimulate my contemplations.

4. How do you see your place in the arts and what are your main aims and hopes for yourself as an artist in the arts scene?

I aspire to be true to maintain being true to my practice and myself. I would also hope to be an influence to other artist: a catalyst but not the driving force.

5. Has this influenced your art or your goals in life in any way?

Yes, definitely. I strongly feel ones practice is representative of ones ideologies, beliefs, thoughts and actions. I believe art and life work hand in hand. To the point the lines begin to blur.

Title: Nevermind

Dimension: 15x16x12cm

Medium: Mixed Media

Year: 2012

~ To view more of KC Gan’s artwork: http://www.contemporaryart.sg/archives/kc-gan

About scyablog

Singapore Contemporary Young Artists Project (SCYA) is a non-profit Art Society that highlights Contemporary Art by Young Artists in Singapore through several platforms in exhibitions, websites, talks, workshops & commissioned services. SCYA was initiated by Jacquelyn Soo who is an artist, curator and director for SCYA. SCYA has over 10 members in the society contributing ideas, activities to support the organisation. SCYA represents up to 70 Singaporean/PR Artists in their works. SCYA launched their first project in Nov 2008 with a website collaboration with FIVEFOOTWAY that featured 23 Contemporary Young Artists Portfolios on an interactive website. Since then, SCYA have had several collaborations and events organised with corporations, government institutions, NGOS and education institutions, Please visit our website for more details: www.contemporaryart.sg Like us on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/SingaporeContemporaryYoungArtists Thank you!

3 comments on “June Artist of the Month – KC Gan speaks with SCYA on his Cyber Sculptures

  1. Suoji
    June 6, 2012

    The new works look interesting KC. Looking forward to more!

  2. tattoo fonts
    June 7, 2012

    I do accept as true with all of the ideas you have offered
    in your post. They are really convincing and will definitely work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are very quick for novices. Could
    you please extend them a bit from next time?
    Thank you for the post.

    • scyablog
      June 7, 2012

      Hi Tattoo Fonts, thanks for your feedback!

      Yes we have been thinking to expand more questions and have a detailed interview in the next few rounds. Do stay in touch with SCYA and hope to hear from you again!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 6, 2012 by in Featured Artists.

Follow me on Twitter

Like us on Facebook!

Instagram @scya_contemporary

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Categories

